summer reading list

Yes, I know it’s late July which is pretty darn close to the end of summer, so you’re probably thinking, “What the heck Tori? Why didn’t you share this with us in MAY?” (Okay, well maybe you’re not thinking that, but that’s what I’m going to pretend you’re thinking, so just go with it.)

As much as I like books, I’m not someone who typically reads for leisure. School does this weird thing where it temporarily convinces my brain that reading can’t be fun. Then, when my brain finally comes to it’s senses, I read about 4 books the week before classes start because reading is so much fun. I came to my senses a little early this summer though so I made a list of books I’ve read/am going to read! The goal is to finish at least three before classes start (considering I’ve already ready one and started on another, it just might happen).

1. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

milk&honey

Okay so I finished this one is about 45 min, but then I read it again. This short book of poems is SO GOOD and I would highly recommend it. Page 106 is probably my favorite.

2. The Martian by Andy Weir

themartian

This one has been on my to-read list for a while. Not to mention I committed the cardinal sin of watching the movie before reading the book. That being said I’m finally reading it and I’m loving the comedic relief this book employs to counter the extremely stressful situation it depicts.

3. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

extremelyloud

Okay, this is cardinal sin number two. The movie was so sad I couldn’t bring myself to read the book! Stop judging me!

4. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

murderonexpress

The trailer looks awesome. It’s a short read. Nuff’ said.

5. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

meearldyinggirl

Sin 3. I know, I’m a horrible person. In my defense though, I didn’t know it was a book when I watched the movie (said movie is now one of my favorite movies)!

Wish me luck with all this reading! I’ll let you all know if there are any other good read that I pick up before classes get rollin’.

Best,

Tori.

Leave a Reply

