making a new apartment a home

If you know me, you know that I really don’t like moving. That being said, it’s officially summer for me, which means moving…again. As a college student, I’m moving constantly. I often feel like I have no real place to call home because I dorm life basically equals a new room every six months. This summer I’m blessed to be living in an apartment with some great friends. First of all, my apartment would feel nothing like home if it weren’t for my awesome roommates.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Breakfast with these lovely ladies would make any place feel like home. The other day we made banana-oat pancakes before work and OMG they were good! We also almost always have music playing.  Because of this, my record player has become a centerpiece of sorts in our living room.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

One blessing about living in college housing is our apartment came fully furnished. This blessing is also a huge curse. It’s so difficult to make your apartment feel different from all the other apartments in the building. Thankfully we have added some just-us details.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

One of my favorite things about our apartment is all our things just melded together. Being able to fully share a space just makes it feel more like a space where you can be youself.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Finally we added plants (air plans, succulents, and flowers) around the house which just gives a more natural feel.

Best of luck with your decorating,

Tori.

Leave a Reply

