soul care

What is soul care? Well for me, when I say soul care, I’m talking about self-care that truly refreshes your innermost being. Some of you may be thinking that definition is in no way helpful to your understanding. What on earth is self-care? I didn’t know the answer to that question until recently. The first time someone asked me what I did for self-care, I told her I showered regularly and brushed my teeth twice a day. According to the University of Kentucky, self-care is any “intentional actions you take to take care for your physical, mental, and emotional health.” I honestly hadn’t even thought about how vital self-care is until I got to college. This past year has been an overload of school work, spiritual warfare, extracurriculars, family events, more school work, sickness and holy cow have I been in need of some serious soul-care. So, this weekend I finally took a much-needed deep breath.

One of the ways that I feel most refreshed is by spending quality time with people, so that is exactly what I did! I went out and explored Ocean Beach with two amazing friends visiting san Diego on their spring breaks. We went to Hodad’s (aka: a local teen hangout) and oh my goodness I had the best chocolate shake I’ve had in a long time. It was overflowing with ice cream and it was probably bigger than my head. This adventure was my first time ever eating at Hodad’s, a sin for a San Diegan, and all I have to say is it was a dang good burger that’s worth the wait.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

After stuffing our faces, we went and walked down the pier. It was a cold and cloudy day, but being together brought me so much joy. I realized I had forgotten what if felt like to be at peace. I have been so stressed and anxious as of late that the still water and cloudy skies have gone unappreciated. Getting to enjoy the ocean with friends that I see only so often was just calming. I didn’t have any major epiphany out on the pier, but I sure laughed a lot. I needed that. My soul needed that. I haven’t been truly taking the time to take care of myself. I need to spend more time reading, exploring, and laughing. I need to be able to just sit and listen to the ocean once in a while and actually hear its beauty. I need to do things that care for my soul.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I challenge you all to go out and do something that feeds your soul this week. For some of you, that may look like reading a book or making your favorite meal. For others, it may be calling home and catching up with your family. For me, I plan to go explore a record store and I’ll be sure to tell you all about it.

Hope your doing well,

Tori.

Leave a Reply

